Text Box:

WAKEFIELD’S CONNOR MITCH named N.C. STEP “No Spit” All-Star of the Year.

CANTON, N.C. – The North Carolina Spit Tobacco Education Program (N.C. STEP) is proud to announce that Wakefield’s Connor Mitch is the winner of the 5th Annual N.C. STEP “No Spit” All-Stars campaign for football.  Mitch threw for 3,832 yards with 48 touchdowns this season for 9-3 Wakefield.  Mitch has committed to play at South Carolina.  N.C. STEP has honored four “No Spit” All-Stars of the Year for football, including: Andrews’ Jordan Collins (2011); Madison’s Dalton Ledbetter (2010); Jack Britt’s Eric Johnson (2009); and Mt. Pleasant’s Evan Seymour (2008).  Fans from across the state voted for the N.C. STEP “No Spit” All-Star of the year, selecting Mitch from among ten finalists, including:

                 -Dequan Barnes of Independence;

                 -Alex Beecher of Concord;

                 -Phillip Bell of E.E. Smith;

                 -Trevon Brown of New Hanover;

                 -Larenz Bryant of Vance;

                 -Khris Francis of Hillsdale;

                 -Nathaniel Harvey of Knightdale;

                 -Garrett Lane of Swain County;

                 -Marquel Manning of Franklin;

                 -Connor Mitch of Wakefield.


In the Oral Health America 2006 Spit Tobacco Report Card, the nation received a “D” for the use of spit tobacco.  That means between 12 to 20 percent of all high school males in the country have used spit tobacco in the last 30 days.  This campaign is designed to educate young people in North Carolina about the dangers of spit tobacco and reinforce the healthy, lifestyle choice not to use tobacco products, especially spit tobacco.