Steel-High’s Jeffrey Chisholm, Hampton’s Joe Lafko, and

Canon-McMillan’s Chris Mary voted Army Coach of the Year

Army Coach of the Year will honor Pennsylvania’s best coaches


HARRISBURG, PA – The U.S. Army Harrisburg Recruiting Battalion is proud to announce the that Steel-High’s Jeffrey Chisholm (girl’s basketball), Hampton’s Joe Lafko (boy’s basketball), and Canon-McMillan’s Chris Mary (wrestling) voted U.S. Army Coach of the Year for Pennsylvania.  Fans from across the state voted online for the winners at

Chisholm’s Steel-High team finished the season 28-3 and won its second-straight PIAA Class A State Championship.  Hampton’s Lafko led his squad to the semi-final round of the PIAA Class AAA tournament, finishing its season 25-6.  Mary led Canon-McMillan to the dual-team title at the PIAA Class AAA Championship, beating Central Dauphin, 28-25, in the semi-finals to end CD’s dual-match winning streak at 95 consecutive wins.

Here is the list of finalists for the U.S. Army Coach of the Year honor: 


U.S. Army Coach of the Year – Pennsylvania – Winter Finalists – 2011-2012


Boys’ Basketball

Girls’ Basketball


Rob Carmody - Mars

Jeffrey Chisholm – Steel-High

Joe Bursick – Hampton

Chuck Crummie – Central Catholic

Bill Cleary – Seton Catholic

John Little - Solanco

Pat Dieter – Boiling Springs

Don Dimoff – Red Lion

Chris Mary – Canon-McMilan

Gary Goga – Peters Township

Bob Heusser – Lower Dauphin

Tony Miller – Spring Grove

Kent Houser – Greenwood

Rick Klimchock – Franklin Regional

Bud Sines - Burrell

Joe Lafko - Hampton

Ernie Koontz – Upper St. Clair

Perry Smith – Gettysburg

Andre McDonald – Allerdice

Bob Miles – Fort Cherry

Jeff Sweigard – Central Dauphin

Gene Mercuri – Keystone Oaks

Cornelius Nesbit - Gateway

Chuck Tursky – Kiski Area

Von Pitts - Clairton

Molly Rottmann – North Catholic

Rod Wright – Boiling Springs

Paul Sapotichne – Greensburg Salem

Spencer Stefko – Chartiers Valley

Jeremy Zufall – Jefferson-Morgan